Toll Free No: 18001804201, 18001804221 Law Office: 0135-2771405, 7248477771
17 Years of Excellence

“Eco-Cops”- the Environmental Club of Uttaranchal University organizes Debate Competition

A Debate Competition was organized by the Environmental Club – “Eco-Cops” of Uttaranchal University on 7th October, 2017 to celebrate “Wildlife Week”.  The topic of the debate was “The existence of human being is dependent on the existence of wildlife”.

The debate was chaired by Hon’ble Chancellor Mr. Jitender Joshi. Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.)N.K.Joshi, Director-Student Affairs & IT Services Dr. Abhishek  Joshi, Principal-  UCALS  & President-Eco Club  Dr. Ajay Singh and the Deans/Directors/Principals  of various constituents colleges of Uttaranchal University  were present on the occasion.

In his address, Prof.(Dr.)N.K.Joshi appreciated student participation in the event. He motivated the students to acknowledge their responsibility towards Mother Earth and live with the spirit of environmental consciousness and protection through activities of “Eco-Cops”.

The event was coordinated and synchronized by Dr. Bharti Ramola, Coordinator – “Eco Cops” – the Environmental Club, Dr. Poonam Negi – Secretary, Mr. V.K. Joshi along with the student co-ordinators of Eco-Cops  . The Anchors for the occasion were Ms Anu Vashisth, Ms Shrishti Gautam and Mr. Parv Jha. The Student Coordinators were Mr. Aditya Chahar, Mr. Himanshu Khetwal, Ms. Ruchi Parijat, Mr. Ayush Maikhuri, Mr. Sibasis Palo, Mr. Shivam Pandey and Mr.Raghav Rathi .

The students from Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal Institute of Technology, Uttaranchal College of Applied & Life Sciences, Uttaranchal Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Uttaranchal College of Agricultural Sciences & Uttaranchal College of Polytechnic participated in the event.

The jury comprised of Dr. Ajay Singh, Principal-UCALS, Ms. V. Bhuvnashawari, Chairperson – LCD Debsoc, Dr. Sonal Sharma, Head – IT (UIM) and Mr. S.K. Joshi Head -ME (UIT) .

The results were compiled by Dr. Poonam Negi, Secretary–“Eco Cops”–the Environmental Club.

The results of the Debate Competition were as follows:

Best speaker               :           Ms. Shivangi Sharma (Law College Dehradun)

(for the motion)

 Best speaker               :           Mr. Prajit Premraj(Uttaranchal Institute of Technology)

(against the motion)


Best Team                  :           Uttaranchal Institute of Technology

                                                Ms. Ruchi Parijat (for the motion) ,Mr. Prajit Premraj (against the motion)


The prizes of the Poster Competition organized on 22nd April, 2017 by “Eco Cops”–the Environmental Club to celebrate “Earth Day” were also distributed.

The winners of the Poster Competition were as follows :


I Prize                         : Sibasis Palo & Shiwani Singh, B.Sc Agriculture (UCAS)


II Prize                       : Riya Sinha & Vaishali Ranger, B.Sc (H) Chemistry (UCALS)


Consolation Prize      : Srishti Gautam, B.Tech. (CSE)  (UIT)

The Vote of Thanks was delivered by Prof.(Dr.) Ajay Singh, Principal-UCALS.