Uttaranchal College of Applied & Life Sciences organizes an International Conference on “New Horizons in Green Chemistry & Technology”

Home » Blog » Uttaranchal College of Applied & Life Sciences organizes an International Conference on “New Horizons in Green Chemistry & Technology”

A two-day ‘International Conference’ on “New Horizons in Green Chemistry & Technology” was organized by Uttaranchal College of Applied & Life Sciences, a faculty of Uttaranchal University, on 27-28 November, 2018. The Conference was inaugurated by the lighting of the auspicious lamp by Shri Jitender Joshi, Hon’ble Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) N.K.Joshi, Vice Chancellor, Dr. Ajay Singh (Principal-UCALS), Chief Guest Dr. S.D. Sharma (IFS, DDG-ICFRE-Dehradun), Dr. Vilaskin Mikhain (Professor-Russian Academy of Science, Moscow), Dr. Dhavendra Kumar (Cardiff University, United Kindom), Dr. Y.S. Negi ( Professor & Head-IPT, Polymer Sc-IIT Roorkee), Dr. R.K. Jain (Technical Expert-UNIDO, New Delhi) and Dr. N. Vishwanadham (IIP, Dehradun). Lighting of the Lamp was followed by the official welcome of Hon’ble Chancellor, Vice Chancellor and all the dignitaries by bouquet presentation.

Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N. K. Joshi delivered the Inaugural Talk on the significance of organizing conference. He addressed the delegates and briefed them about the present scenario pertaining to need for conservation of natural resources and how technological advancements in Green Chemistry can contribute in sustainable development.

Dr. Ajay Singh, Principal-UCALS and Convenor & Conference Chair, in his Welcome Address, introduced the Guests of Honour, Invited Speakers and Delegates who participated in this conference from different countries. He also briefed about different Technical Sessions including Invited Talk, Oral Presentations and Poster Presentation.

Dr. Dhavendra Kumar (Cardiff University, UK) delivered the first Invited Talk on Applied Genome Biotechnology in latest diagnosis and treatment. Dr. Vilaskin Mikhain (Professor, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia) in his Keynote Lecture emphasized on how aluminium based fuel can be generated for future. He described how developed countries plan and execute research for forthcoming 10-20 years. Dr. Y.S. Negi (Professor & Head Polymer Science, IIT- Roorkee) delivered his Talk on applications and future prospects of Greener Technology. The Chief Guest of the Conference Dr. S.D. Sharma (IFS, DDG-ICFRE-Dehradun) discussed the present scenario of environment in India and world.

Prof. R. K Jain (UNIDO, New Delhi) explained about utilization of biopolymers in ecofriendly lubes additive development through organic transformations. Dr. N. Vishwanadham (Professor – CSIR Academy, IIP Dehradun) delivered his Keynote Lecture on technological advancements in biofuel and catalyst. Dr. M.S.M. Rawat (Professor & Ex-Vice Chancellor – HNB Garhwal University) described the Principles of Green Chemistry. Dr Vinit Kumar (Professor, HOD-Chemistry-FRI University) discussed the fundamentals of analytical techniques and green methods of technology.

The conference was organized with the association of Elsevier-USA, UCOST-UK, American Chemical Society (USA) & Hi-Media.

Ms. Mona – Country Manager for India from American Chemical Society (USA) announced the establishment of their Dehradun Chapter in Uttaranchal University and free membership for the delegates of the Conference.

In Poster Presentation Mr. Saurabh (IIP) was given ‘Young Scientist Award’. The Second Prize was given to Ms. Pallavi Dhir (SGRR). The Third Prize was awarded to Ms. Asifa & Ms. Uma Goswami (Uttaranchal University).

In the Oral Presentation, Dr. Ravinder Singh (ICAR-Karnal) was awarded ‘Young Scientist Award’. Dr. Avinash Bhake (Engg. College, Nagpur) and Dr. Surbhi Sagar were the Second and Third Winner respectively.

The Conference was organized by Principal-UCALS, Dr. Ajay Singh (Convener & Conference Chair), Dr. Vinod Kumar (Organizing Secretary), Dr. Nishesh Sharma (Joint Secretary) and Dr. Rohit Sharma (Joint Secretary).The Organizing Team included Dr. V.K. Srivastava, Dr. B.S.Rawat, Dr. Poonam Negi, Dr. Bharti Ramola, Dr. Naveen Kumar and Dr. N.C. Joshi.

The Conference concluded with a Valedictory Session wherein Dr. Ajay Singh delivered a Vote of Thanks to the management, the members and the delegates.

× WhatsApp Us