Toll Free No: 18002124201, 18002124221
Law Office (Only For LAW Programmes Enquiry): 0135-2770354, 0135-2770302, 7248477771
20 Years of Excellence

Law College Dehradun Constituted A Bench of the Supreme Court at its 5th National Moot Court Competition

Home » Blog » Law College Dehradun Constituted A Bench of the Supreme Court at its 5th National Moot Court Competition

Law College Dehradun concluded its 5th National Moot Court Competition in a commendable fashion on 2nd May 2021 under the aegis of Moot Court Society of Law College. Former Chief Justice of India Justice K. G. Balakrishnan was the presiding Judge during the final round and Chief Guest in the Valedictory Session, whereas Additional Solicitor General of India Ms. Aishwarya Bhati, Founder of the Sarvada Legal; Mr. Abhishek Anand, Advocate of Delhi High Court; Mr. Amit George and Dean of Law College Dehradun Dr. Rajesh Bahuguna were the Judges of the final round. The event was well planned, and the diligent process went on for 2 month and the participants participated at different level of competition and finally 18 teams qualified for the final round. 37 Judges from amongst the top Academicians, Advocates and Judges adjudicated the competition in total 16 courts while the final round saw its inauguration on 1st May 2021. 

Moot Court Society, the Organizers of the event had framed 7 points to be determined by the Supreme Court. Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897 and Biodiversity Rules 2004 were challenged before the Supreme Court of India. There were hot arguments on Herbal Medicinal Plants, Research, Traditional knowledge of Tribes and Profit Sharing. Participants put forwarded strong arguments regarding the Violation of Article 14 and 21 of the Constitution of India whereas participants arguing for government claimed sovereign immunity.

The robust competition saw an enthusiastic and thoughtful advocacy of the participants making it even tougher for the judges. The cutthroat competition declared the following participants as the winners:

Winner – Aarav, Lalita and Aniket, School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore

Runner Up – Kishan, Ashish and Sakshi, Central University of South Bihar, Patna

Best Oralist Male – ICFAI University, Dehradun, Uttarakhand

Best Oralist Female – Nayan Saini, Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University, Delhi

Best Researcher – Shambhavi Singh, Chanakya National Law University, Patna

Best Memorial – Tanveer, Ananya and Saumya, Rajiv Gandhi National Law University, Punjab

The Winners were awarded with a cash prize of Rs.60,000/-

Former Chief Justice of India, Justice K. G. Balakrishnan, in his address stated that, “Participation in Moot Court Competition has brought Paradigm Change in the Legal Profession”. He further stated that Legal Research, Pleading and Arguments put forward by the finalist were not less than real advocate. He congratulated Law College Dehradun of Uttaranchal University for organizing such a marvelous National Level Moot Competition despite unfavorable condition prevailing in the country. He advised all the colleges and universities including Law College Dehradun to organize Mock Trial of District Level Courts, which could also include cross examination of the witnesses. He expressed his heartiest congratulations to all the participants for their meticulous presentation.

Additional Solicitor General of India Ms. Aishwarya Bhati stated that latest technologies of legal research have brought paradigm change in the working of legal profession to make it more interesting and challenging. She acclaimed the dynamic exercise of the organizing team for the vibrant session and the participants for their arduous work. Dr. Amit George and Mr. Abhishek Anand commended the organizers and participants for the splendid job. 

Vice Chancellor of the university, Prof. (Dr.) Devendra Pathak, appreciated the team MCS for putting forth such an event of great grandiose amidst the pandemic situation. Prof. (Dr.) Poonam Rawat the Chairperson of Moot Court Society, in her vote of thanks, expressed her appreciation and admiration to the team MCS and all the participants of the event. 5th National Moot Court Competition was organized online through ‘ZOOM’ platform and live streamed through the YouTube channel of Uttaranchal University. The event was witnessed by participants across the nation, students, and faculty members of Law College Dehradun.  

A Big Kudos to the organizing team MCS.

× WhatsApp Us