Law College Dehradun fabulously concludes its First Edition of National Parliamentary Debate ‘Vagyuddha-2018’

Home » Blog » Law College Dehradun fabulously concludes its First Edition of National Parliamentary Debate ‘Vagyuddha-2018’

Law College Dehradun brought about a spectacular ending to its National Parliamentary Debate – ‘Vagyuddha – 2018’ in a splendid manner on 15th April, 2018 under the aegis of ‘Aarambh’ – The Debating Society of Law College Dehradun. The three-day event was an open tournament where cross teams were allowed to participate. The event saw participation from reputed universities of the nation which included Jamia Milia University, Zakir Hussain, JMC, Lloyd, Delhi University, to name a few.

Distinguished experts in the field of debate like Mr. Dibyojyoti Mainak, Mr. Siddharth Thygarajan and Mr. Anupam Dhar were the adjudicators of the event. This event witnessed a meaningful & lively debate on the contemporary issues of national & international importance. The motions discussed in the event included themes related to Religion, Business, Feminism, International Relations and National Politics. The Semi Final Round of the competition included the proposal related to delimitation of Parliamentary Constituencies initiated a new debate. According to the constitution Parliamentary Constituencies are decided in proportion to the population. The competitors representing the government referred Article 81 & 82 of the Constitution. On the other hand the opposition claimed the basis of population for delimitation as impractical. It was argued that the division of Parliamentary Constituencies on the basis of population leads to grave injustice particularly to the hilly states. Opposition demanded that delimiting of Parliamentary Constituencies in hilly areas should be according to area and in plains it should be on population basis.

The Chief Guest of the occasion was Dr. Abhishek Joshi, Director – Student Affairs and IT Services. The Trophies & Cash Prizes worth Rs. 2,74,000 were awarded by the Chief Guest Dr. Abhishek Joshi and the Principal – Law College Dehradun Prof. (Dr.) Rajesh Bahuguna. Winner Team Zakir Hussain & Shri Venkateshwar College of Delhi University was awarded the prize money of Rs. 80,000, 1st Runner Up Trophy with Rs. 50,000 was bagged by Zamia Milia Islamia University, New Delhi. The Cash Prize of Rs.30,000 and Rs. 20,000 were given to the Semi Finalist and Quarter Finalist respectively while the Best Adjudicator was given a Cash Prize of Rs. 34,000 and Core Adjudicators acquired Rs.60,000.

The Chairperson of the Society, Ms.V. Bhuvaneswari, in her speech conveyed her heartiest congratulations to the adjudicators and the team Aarambh – The Debating Society of Law College Dehradun, for their relentless effort in organizing this mega event and expressed her best wishes to them to create more such amazing success stories. The Principal in his speech appreciated the Society Members for their commitment and perseverance and encouraged them to organize more such events. The event came to a glorious conclusion with a formal Vote of Thanks delivered by the Vice President of the Society Ms. Snigdha Tiwari.

Enquire Now
close slider


Scholarship (Except Law Programmes)

Scholarship (For Law Programmes)

× WhatsApp Us