Law College Dehradun organizes Intramural Debate Competition 2018

Home » Blog » Law College Dehradun organizes Intramural Debate Competition 2018

Law College Dehradun, faculty of Uttaranchal University, organized the 2nd Edition of ‘The Debater of the Year 2018’ (an Intramural Debate Competition) on 23rd February, 2018 in the jam packed Seminar Hall. The topic of the debate was ‘This House will implement one child policy in India’. Dr. Abhishek Joshi, Director, Student Affairs and IT Services, was the Chief Guest on the occasion while Dr. Vandana Joshi, Mr. Kumar Ashutosh and Dr. Rajeev Ranjan were present as subject experts and respected judges of the event. Students of Law College Dehradun observed the event with utmost curiosity. ‘Debater of the Year’ award and the cash prize were the star attractions of the event.

Highly argumentative and qualitative discussion was witnessed in the competition. Those favoring the motion justified one child policy while the same was vociferously countered by their opponents. The topic of the debate was current and extremely relevant. Participants speaking in favor of the motion explained the dangers of population explosion and gave details maintaining that blind exploitation of natural resources would eventually lead to catastrophic effects upon human civilization. They reiterated the importance of one child policy as an essential prerequisite in developmental context. At the same time, the participants speaking against the motion argued that adoption of one child policy would not only infringe constitutional rights of the people but might also jeopardize the democratic credentials of the country. The participants offered their arguments citing instances concerned with female feticide, gender balance ratio and personal laws of different religions. They even maintained that such a policy is virtually impossible in a male dominated society.

The Finalists of the event were Ayesha Khan, Sheva Khan, Anannya Bhatt, Shubham Bahuguna, Chanchal Sharma, Longjam Herojit Singh and Anushka Joshi. Ms. Neera Sinam was adjudged ‘Debater of the Year – 2018’.

In his address Dr. Rajesh Bahuguna, Principal, Law College Dehradun, stated that meaningful debates on international issues paves the way for all round development of personality of the students. He further said that excellent debating skill is an important virtue of a successful lawyer.

Hon’ble Chief Guest, Dr. Abhishek Joshi encouraged and motivated the students by asserting that to be adjudged ‘Debater of the Year’ is an excellent and sought after achievement. He congratulated the winner and appreciated the organizers.

Dr. Poonam Rawat, Mr. Kumar Ashutosh, Mr. Rajeev Ranjan, Dr. Prabha Lama, Mr. S. Anand, Mr. Naved Akhtar, Mr. Vaibhav Uniyal, Dr. Nivedita Thapliyal, Dr. Hina Rana, Ms. Swati Saxena, Mr.S. B. Ojha, Ms. Kanchan Anand along with hundreds of students were present on the occasion.

× WhatsApp Us