19 Years of Excellence

Law College Dehradun organizes Moot Court Competition – 2019 for Assistant Prosecution Officers (Batch – 2016)

Law College Dehradun organizes Moot Court Competition – 2019 for Assistant Prosecution Officers (Batch – 2016)

Police Training College, Narendra Nagar, Tehri Garhwal, Uttarakhand in collaboration with Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal University organized a spectacular Moot Court Competition for Assistant Prosecution Officers (Batch – 2016) on 30th July, 2019. Hon’ble Mr. Justice B.S. Verma, Chairman, Police Complaint Authority, Uttarakhand was present as the Chief Guest of the occasion, Mr. Hari Vinod Joshi, Additional Director, Prosecution Directorate, Uttarakhand was the Special Guest while Mr. G.C. Pancholi, Joint Director Law/ Course Director, Police Training College, Uttarakhand was the Guest of Honour. Respected Chancellor of the University, Shri. Jitender Joshi and Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Joshi graced the occasion as the Special Guests.

The event initiated with the auspicious ceremony of lamp lighting and then continued with a Welcome Speech delivered by Dean & Principal of Law College Dehradun Prof. (Dr.) Rajesh Bahuguna. He, in his address, expressed that it was a matter of pride and immense pleasure to organize such events in the college. He thanked Police Training College for selecting Law College Dehradun as their Competition Venue.

Twenty-five Trainee APO’s, a Trainer, Course Coordinator and Director were present during the mega event. The training began at 11 am in the morning followed by the inauguration of Moot Court Competition. Participant APO’s been given the files were asked to plead on the same. Additional Director (Prosecution) Shri Hari Vinod Joshi, S.P.O. Shri. M.L. Sadana, S.P.O. Shri. T.S. Bisht and Assistant Professor of Law College Dehradun Mr. Anzum Parvez were the judges of the event. Both prosecution as well as defence presented their strong arguments related to the case.

List of participants:

State Vs Sarika Bhatia and Others

Group- A

Prosecution:   1. Sonika Adhikari

  1. Vikrant Rathore
  2. Ashish Gupta

Defence:         1. Pramod Chander Arya

  1. Ritesh Verma
  2. Pooja Devi

Group – B      

Prosecution: 1. Meena Khan

  1. Jyoti Singh
  2. Santosh Paschimi

  Defence: 1. Ashok Kumar

  1. Anurag Varun
  2. Dawood Siddiqqui

State Vs Shiva, Shubham &Others

Group – A       

Prosecution: 1.Vasudev

  1. Seema Rani
  2. Govind

    Defence:     1. Sangeeta Tripathi

  1. Rajesh Singh
  2. Vishal Gaur

Group- B  

Prosecution: 1. Upendra Sharma

  1. Ram Kumar Singh
  2. Neetu Arya

  Defence: 1. Devmani Pandey

  1. Ashish Gupta
  2. Jaipal

Tough competition among the participants was observed which made it a herculean task to come to a judgment.

However, the adjudicators declared Monica Adhikari, Vikrant Rathore and Ashish Gupta of Team P1 Winners and Vasudev, Seema Rani and Govind of Team P3 the Runners up. Ashish Gupta was declared the Best Mooter.

Hon’ble B.S. Verma, in his address, outlined the importance of Prosecution Officers in criminal cases. He cautioned the budding officers to be meticulous in handling the witnesses as any lapse on their part might prove advantageous to the defence. He advised the prosecutors to keep abreast with the latest developments in the field of law. He exhorted them to be thoroughly professional in the discharge of their duties. This was followed by Mr. G.C.Pancholi’s address wherein he shared his wisdom and years of experience by defining his perception of Law as a noble profession. He also thanked the Management and Principal of the college for rendering them a helping hand in making the event a grand success.

Those present on the occasion included Chancellor of the University Shri Jitender Joshi, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Joshi, Mr. Hari Vinod Joshi, Mr. G.C. Pancholi, Mr. T.S. Rana, Mr. M.L. Sadana, Mr. T.S. Bisht, Ms. Mamta Mandoli, Ms. Urvashi Chauhan, Dr. Poonam Rawat, Mr. Anjum Parvez, Mr. Kumar Ashutosh, Mr. Amit Kumar, Dr. Bhuvaneswari along with the participants and other faculty members of Law College Dehradun.

× WhatsApp Us