19 Years of Excellence

Mega Blood Donation on the occasion of Constitution Day (National Law Day) on 26th November, 2019.

Home » Blog » Mega Blood Donation on the occasion of Constitution Day (National Law Day) on 26th November, 2019.

Mega Blood Donation on the occasion of Constitution Day (National Law Day) on 26th November, 2019

Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal University celebrates Constitution Day: Witnesses – Taking of the Pledge of Preamble in the benign presence of Director General of Police, Uttarakhand; Release of Dehradun Law Review: A Law Journal and Mega Blood Donation Camp which created a record with 1248 Units of Blood Donation

“Where there is charity and wisdom, there is neither fear nor ignorance” -St. Francis

Law College Dehradun, faculty of Uttaranchal University, organized a Mega Blood Donation Camp on 26th November, 2019, under the aegis of its Legal Aid Centre, on the historic event of ‘Constitution Day’ (National Law Day). Mr. Anil Kumar Raturi, Director General of Police of Uttarakhand State, presided as the Chief Guest of the occasion along with Hon’ble Chancellor Shri. Jitender Joshi, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Joshi, Vice Chairperson Shrimati Anuradha Joshi, Director S.A & I.T Services Dr. Abhishek Joshi and Principal & Dean of Law College Dehradun Prof. (Dr.) Rajesh Bahuguna. The events of the day commenced with the guests paying floral tribute and homage at ‘Shaurya Dewar’ to the martyrs who sacrificed their life for the service of the nation. In pursuit of this Mr. Anil Raturi was felicitated by Hon’ble Chancellor Shri. Jitender Joshi with a bouquet and memento in the Seminar Hall of the college.

Principal & Dean Prof. (Dr.) Rajesh Bahuguna, in his Inaugural Address, extended his heartiest welcome to the Chief Guests and Guest of Honour of the occasion. Introducing the Guest to the audience he stated that Mr. Anil Kumar Raturi has taken charge as the tenth DGP of the state. He has a B.A. (Honours) and M.A. in English Literature from Delhi University and has been awarded the prestigious President’s Police Medal for his distinguished service in the year 2011. He has also represented the country in the International Roller Hockey Championship at Cairo, Egypt in 1983. Besides, Mr. Raturi has the credit of holding notable positions of the state like ADG Administration, ADG Law and Order, DGP and Director Vigilance. He also stated that Blood Donation Camp was started in the year 2005 with the intention to motivate other educational institutions to adopt some practice for the cause of the society. It was a proud moment for Law College Dehradun as a large number of blood units had been donated to the society through these camps. Later on, as per the Government’s order, the preamble of the Constitution was recited by the dignitaries along with the audience.

The Chief Guest, D.G.P. (Uttarakhand) Shri Anil Kumar Raturi, at the outset, led the collective reading of preamble of the Constitution. The entire audience present in the Seminar Hall participated in the collective pledge of the Preamble. Addressing the gathering he stated that mission and core values are vital to improve the quality of life. Constitution and preamble is our core value and assures the dignity of an individual and unity and integrity of the nation. Every society has its own culture and insisted that the onus lies in the young lawyers to see what could be done to improve the quality of a common man. He ended his speech congratulating the management and the faculty members to celebrate the event with a noble cause of blood donation. He applauded the organizers of the event. In his speech, he explained the socio-economic and political dimensions of the preamble and observed that the same reflects the core values of our nation. “In a hetrogenous society like ours, the preamble reflects the core of our constitutional values and a torch-bearer in the process of nation-building”, he remarked. He advised the students to think, learn, reflect and imagine in all their endeavours as they are indispensable for citizen building, state building and nation building. “Whatever you do in your profession, always think that whether it is going to benefit and uplift the lowest man of the social strata”, he exhorted the students. “Political rights bereft of socio-economic rights have no meaning and this is best reflected in the preamble”, he declared.

Hon’ble Chancellor of the University, Shri Jitender Joshi stated that Blood Donation Camp is organized every year on 26th November under the auspices of Law College Dehradun. He declared with pride that more than 10,000 blood units had so far been donated. He thanked the organizers as well as the donors for their noble efforts.

Participating Blood Banks

Mahant Indiresh Hospital, I.M.A. Blood Bank, Doon Hospital, AIIMS Rishikesh & Himalayan Institute Hospital Trust, Jollygrant

Participation of the Faculties of University

Law College Dehradun, Uttaranchal Institute of Management, Uttaranchal Institute of Technology, Uttaranchal Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Applied and Life Sciences, School of Agriculture, School of Hospitality Management, School of Media and Communication Studies, University Polytechnic and School of Liberal Arts

Proactive participation of NSS Unit – Uttaranchal University comprising of the NSS Wing of all the constituent Faculties of Uttaranchal University

NSS Wing – Law College Dehradun, NSS Wing – Uttaranchal Institute of Management, NSS Wing – Uttaranchal Institute of Technology, NSS Wing – Uttaranchal Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, NSS Wing – School of Applied and Life Sciences, NSS Wing – School of Agriculture, NSS Wing – School of Hospitality Management, NSS Wing – School of Media and Communication Studies, NSS Wing – University Polytechnic and NSS Wing – School of Liberal Arts

Those especially present on the occasion were Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N. K. Joshi, Vice Chairperson Mrs. Anuradha Joshi, Director Dr. Abhishek Joshi, Registrar Mr. Ajai Singh, Mr. Jagdish Joshi, Dr. Pradeep Suri, Dr. J. P. Mishra, Dr. S. K. Shah, Dr. Ajay Singh, Dr. Anuj Mittal, Mr. Manish Badoni, Dr. Shriya Goyal, Dr. Poonam Rawat, Ms. Shruti Uniyal, Mr. Vaibhav Uniyal, Mr. Kumar Ashutosh, Dr. V. Bhuvneshwari, Ms. Parvati Pandey, Dr. V. K. Srivastava, Dr. Vivek Kumar, Dr. Manoj Sharma, Mr. Rakesh Sharma, Mr. Arvind Singh Rawat, Mr. Sanchit Verma, Mr. Sunil Prakash, Mr. Ashish Dhiman along with Faculty Members and hundreds of students.

Click To Web Report In PDF Form

× WhatsApp Us