19 Years of Excellence

Sushila Devi Memorial Volleyball Tournament at Uttaranchal University

Sushila Devi Memorial Volleyball Tournament at Uttaranchal University

Uttaranchal University, Dehradun organized its first Sushila Devi Memorial Interuniversity Volleyball Tournament under the aegis of Law College Dehradun from 5th to 7th November, 2019. The final day of the event was indeed a competition packed event. The Final Match was inaugurated by International Volleyball Players, namely, Shri. Lalit Kumar and Shri. Ratish Nayar, who presided as the Special Guests, along with Hon’ble Chancellor Shri. Jitender Joshi and Dr. Abhishek Joshi, Director – Student Affairs and IT Services who were present as the Distinguished Guests of the day.

The three-day tournament saw participation of 30 teams from reputed universities of the nation. Four pools were constituted in the Male Category while two were in the Female Category. The Final Match saw cheering audience and a never give-up attitude of the players. In the Female Category, Uttaranchal University and D.A.V. (P.G.) College reached the Finals and in the Male Category, Uttaranchal University, Dehradun and Maharaja Agrasen College, Solan clashed in the Final Round. It is noteworthy to point out that Maharaja Agrasen College, (H.P.) and Uttaranchal University are renowned Volleyball Teams of North India.

In the Male Category, Maharaja Agrasen College (H.P.) defeated Uttaranchal University by 2-0 while the girls’ team D.A.V. (P.G.) College, Dehradun won the Final Round defeating Uttaranchal University also by 2-0 in a closed contest. The game proved to be a lively one as there was a tough competition between the teams. Mohd. Shahnawaz and Ms. Kriti Thapa from D.A.V. (P.G.) College, Dehradun were declared as the Best Male Player and Best Female Player respectively while Shubham from Graphic Era University and Manshi Bisht from Uttaranchal University were declared as the Best Male Defender and Best Female Defender respectively. Suraj from Uttaranchal University and Sheetal from D.A.V. (P.G.) College, Dehradun were adjudged as the Best Male Tackler and Best Female Tackler respectively.

Speaking on the occasion International Volleyball Players, Shri. Ratish Nayar and Shri. Lalit Kumar, gave their spirited accolades to the players and thanked the organizers for organizing such an interesting tournament. They also opined that there should be a separate quota in every University of Uttarakhand. They observed that upcoming national games would infuse new spirit and energy among the players and would prove to be a milestone in the sporting world.

Hon’ble Chancellor of the University Shri. Jitender Joshi awarded a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/- and a shield to the Winners of the Tournament and appreciated all the players for their team spirit. Principal & Dean Prof. (Dr.) Rajesh Bahuguna, the Chairman of the Tournament, conveyed his heartiest congratulations to the winners and applauded all the participants for their power packed performance.

× WhatsApp Us