19 Years of Excellence

School of Applied and Life Sciences celebrates National Science Day

Home » Blog » School of Applied and Life Sciences celebrates National Science Day

‘National Science Day’ was celebrated with great enthusiasm by the students and faculty of School of Applied and Life Sciences on 28th February, 2018. ‘National Science Day’ is celebrated in India on 28 February every year to mark the discovery of the Raman Effect by Indian Physicist Sir Chandrashekhara Venkata Raman. The College organized Uttaranchal Grand Science Master Quiz, Innovative Scientific Model Making Competition and Poster Making Competition to mark the celebration of the day. All the events were organized under the supervision of Dr. Ajay Singh, Principal – SALS.

The programme was inaugurated by Hon’ble Chancellor, Mr. Jitender Joshi, Vice Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) N.K.Joshi, Director – Student Affairs and IT Services, Dr. Abhishek Joshi and Dr. Ajay Singh.

More than 60 Scientific Posters were showcased which were coordinated by Dr, V.K. Srivastava (Head of Mathematics Department) and Dr.Vinod Kumar.

15 Innovative Models were presented by the students which was coordinated by Dr. B.S Rawat (Head of Physics Department) & Dr. Rohit Kumar. Technical Support and framing of banners was very well coordinated by Dr. Nishesh Sharma.

Grand Science Master Quiz was the major attraction of the day, wherein approximately 80 teams from various Colleges and Schools of Dehradun and the constituent colleges of Uttaranchal University participated. Each team was constituted of two student members. In the Qualifying Round a set of questions was provided to the participating teams to be solved within 20 minutes. This round was coordinated by Dr. Bharti Ramola and Dr. Poonam Negi. 8 Teams were shortlisted for the next round. The Preliminary Round, conducted by Dr. Bharti Ramola, was related to different branches of science and current affairs. 4 Teams were selected for the First Round. The First Round (Visual Round) was conducted by Dr. Suchi Upadhayay. 2 Teams were selected for the final Rapid Fire Round. This round, conducted by Ms. Nalini Sharma, concluded with the exposure of the winner of Uttaranchal Grand Science Master Quiz. The scores were maintained and calculated by Dr. Poonam Negi. Dr. Indra, Dr. Shalini, Dr. Mir Amin Mir, Er. Sanjay Kumar, Dr. H.C.Joshi, Dr. Ajay Kumar, Dr. Shalu Chaudhary along with all the other faculty members extended support in the successful organization of the event.

The last feature of the day was the ‘Prize Distribution Ceremony’ coordinated by Dr. Bharti Ramola. The trophy and prizes were given away by Honorable Chancellor, Vice Chancellor, Director – Student Affairs and IT Services and Principal-SALS.

The winners of various events were as follows:
Poster Making Competition:

1st Prize : Ms. Swati, Ms. Garima & Mr. Kishan [B.Sc. (Hons.) Biotechnology]
2nd Prize : Ms. Himani Thapa & Mr. Sanjay Kumar [B.Sc. (Hons.) Mathematics]


Innovative Scientific Model Making Competition:

1st Prize : Ms. Shailja Chauhan [B.Sc. (Hons.) Physics]
2nd Prize : Mr. Aman,  Mr. Jagdeesh & Mr. Abhishek [University Polytechnic]


Uttaranchal Grand Science Master Quiz:

Winner : Mr. Akash Chettri & Mr. Devbrath Singh [B.Tech., Shivalik College of Engineering]
1st Runner up : Ms. Shivani Singhal & Ms. Ambika Gaur [B.Sc. (Hons.) Biotechnology]

The celebrations concluded with a Vote of Thanks delivered by Dr. Ajay Singh. He expressed his sincere thanks to Hon’ble Chancellor, Uttaranchal University for boosting the morale of the students by his benign presence. He extended his gratitude to the faculty, staff and students of SALS for putting up a great show. He specially thanked and appreciated the Final Year students of M.Sc. (Industrial Chemistry) and all the volunteers who helped in coordinating the event. Last, but not the least, he extended his special thanks to Dr. Nishesh Sharma for his help and proactive approach throughout the event.

The event witnessed the presence of Mr. Ajai Singh, Registrar – Uttaranchal University and all the Deans/ Directors/ Principals of the constituent Colleges.

× WhatsApp Us