Uttaranchal University organizes “International Conference on Advances in Computing and Data Sciences (ICACDS) – 2018”

Home » Blog » Uttaranchal University organizes “International Conference on Advances in Computing and Data Sciences (ICACDS) – 2018”

Uttaranchal University successfully organized a two-day “International Conference on Advances in Computing and Data Sciences (ICACDS) – 2018” on 20th and 21st April. The international event was organized by the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Uttaranchal Institute of Technology. ICACDS 2018 proved to be a major conference fulfilling its objective of bringing together researchers, developers and practitioners from academia and industry working in the area of Advanced Computing. This conference is technically being sponsored by Springer CCIS &Computer Society of India and financially supported by Consilio Intelligence Research Lab and Co-Sponsored by Keep Kart India & LWT India.

The list of expert luminaries of the event included Prof. Brahmjeet Singh (Director – Research, NIT Kurukshetra) as the Chief Guest, Prof. R.K.Sharma (Dean – Faculty Affairs, Thapar University, Patiala) as the Guest of Honor, Prof. Arun Sharma (Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women, New Delhi) as Honorary Chair and Keynote Speaker, Prof. Pradeep Gupta (Jaypee University of IT, Solan) as the Convener, Prof. Vipin Tyagi (Jaypee University of Engineering and Technology) as Co-Convener, Prof. LING Tok Wang ( National University of Singapore) as Keynote Speaker, Dr. Anup Ghirdhar ( CEO Founder – Sedulity Solutions & Technologies) as Keynote Speaker, Prof. Prateek Bhatia (Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala) as Keynote Speaker , Prof. S.K.Mishra (Majmaah University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) as Keynote Speaker, Prof. (Dr.) Viranjay M. Srivastava (University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa) as Keynote Speaker, Dr. Mayank Singh as General Chair, Dr. Sandhya Tarar, Dr. Vibhash Yadav, Dr. Sanmeet Bhatia, Dr Divakar Yadav, Dr. Niranjan Lal Verma to name a few.

The Inaugural Ceremony initiated with the recital of the reverend National Anthem and the University Anthem followed by the felicitation of the dignitaries by Hon’ble Chancellor Shri. Jitender Joshi, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Joshi, Dean – UIT Prof. (Dr.) B. Lonia, Head- Department of Computer Science and Engineering Dr. Manoj Diwakar and Mr. Tarun Kumar. All the dignitaries on the dais proceeded to light the auspicious lamp. Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Joshi, in his address, welcomed all the dignitaries and participants and stated the highlights and significance of the prestigious event. He introduced the dignitaries on the dais and informed that the committee received approx. 598 papers which went through the stage of blind review conducted by a team of more than 550 academicians from India and abroad, finally leading to the selection of 109 papers for final presentation and publication with Springer in Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS). Concluding his address he extended his best wishes towards the realizations of the objectives of the event. The Deans/ Directors/ Principals of all the constituent colleges of Uttaranchal University, Mr. Ajai Singh (Registrar), Dr. Vandana Joshi (Joint Registrar), Mr. N.C. Uniyal (Chief Librarian) along with the Head of the Departments, Faculty Members and students of UIT were present on the occasion.

Prof. Brahmjeet Singh, in his address mentioned the advanced techniques in the field of Data Sciences and expressed his concern regarding the risk involved if technology is allowed to be the master of man, concluding that technology should always function under human control. Prof. R.K. Sharma vividly explained Machine Learning and presented a simplified explanation of Neural Network and Machine Learning through examples. Prof. LING Tok Wang enlightened the audience by presenting his views on the innovative researches going on in the field of Artificial Neural Network and shared his research experiences.

Dr. Mayank Singh, the General Chair of the Conference, presented a summary regarding the organization of such a prestigious event. He shared the varied aspects and the factual information involved in the organization of the conference and stated that the next iteration will probably be organized in November, 2019.

The Inaugural Ceremony concluded with a Vote of Thanks delivered by Dr. Manoj Diwakar.
The ceremony was anchored by Ms. Sumita Lamba.

The Inaugural Ceremony was followed by the Keynote Address 1 delivered by Prof. (Dr.) LING Tok Wang. He spoke on ‘ORA-Semantics based XML Keyword Search Organization’. The 2nd Keynote Address of the day was delivered by Dr. Anup Girdhar. He presented his research on ‘What is Information Security & its challenges?’. The 3rd Keynote Address was delivered by Prof. (Dr.) Parteek Bhatia who spoke on the topic ‘A Journey from Machine Learning to Deep Learning’.

As per schedule the 1st day of the conference concluded after the successful conduct of Parallel Session 1 and Parallel Session 2.

The second day initiated with the Keynote Address 4 delivered by Prof. (Dr.) Arun Sharma who presented his expert talk on ‘Fusion of Automatic Features in Big Data and Cloud Computing’. Keynote Address 5 was delivered by Prof. (Dr.) S.K. Mishra. His expert talk was entitled ‘NVF, SDN & 5G Wireless Network Infrastructure: Opportunities, Challenges, Strategies and Forecasts’. The Special Session concluded with Keynote Address 6 delivered by Prof. (Dr.) Viranjay M. Srivastava on the topic ‘Use of CSDG MOSFET in Memory Devices & Mobile Devices’.

Next on schedule were Parallel Session 3 and Parallel Session 4 which were successfully conducted.

Dealing with the facts of the event, geographically, the papers received were from USA, UK, Nepal, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sweden, Poland, Portugal, New Zealand, Estonia and almost all the states of India. Institution wise the papers were from 5 IIT’s, 7 IIIT’s, 13 NIT’s, 21 Central Universities and 96 Universities and Engineering Colleges. 16 papers were from organizations like IBM, Tech Mahindra, Infosys, HCL, CDAE, DRDO and others.

The event entered the last phase with a Valedictory Program wherein all the Paper Presenters were awarded Certificates in acknowledgment of their contribution towards the enhancement of knowledge of their particular field. Hon’ble Chancellor of Uttaranchal University Shri. Jitender Joshi expressed his pleasure with regards to the milestones achieved in realizing the commitment of Uttaranchal University in the field of research. The two-day International Conference concluded with the Vote of Thanks delivered by Hon’ble Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) N. K. Joshi, wherein he expressed his gratitude towards the organizers, the participants and one and all associated with the event.

Enquire Now
close slider


Scholarship (Except Law Programmes)

Scholarship (For Law Programmes)

× WhatsApp Us